Born-again on the 4th of July

Posted on July 5, 2011

0


Preparing for battle...

4th of July weekend in San Diego came with a quiet bang this year.  Inspired by several documentaries, my expanding knowledge of nutrition, and personal health goals, I decided to take on the challenge of a five-day juice fast.  After watching “Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead” on NetFlix, I bought a juice machine (Breville Juice Fountain Plus), groceries, and began my quest. 

Truth is, there was more to it than just watching a movie.  I have wanted to include a lot more vegetables into my diet for years.  I have always been athletic and active, but have also carried extra weight due to my horrible eating habits.  I finally came to a point where I could no longer keep ignoring everything that I know about nutrition and health just so I could enjoy eating junk food without guilt.  Documentaries such as “Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead” and “Food Matters” helped give me that final push in the right direction.  I went to a friend’s housewarming party on Saturday afternoon and had a few beers while discussing our big plans for Sunday night.  A “house-crawl” in Pacific Beach was planned the week before and it was sure to be a very fun and drunken adventure.  I was very much looking forward to it.

As I stood on the deck looking out at San Diego Bay, I felt grateful to be alive.  The weather was perfect and I was with great company.  I’ve had a couple of beers by then and felt that they were unnecessary.  Everything was fine without them.  I had already purchased my juice machine and decided that I should head home and get started immediately.  I also decided that I should stop drinking until I was in much better health.  A good beer always felt like a reward after some kind of accomplishment, like finishing a half-marathon or cleaning my yard.  Fact is, I just didn’t feel that I had done anything lately to deserve a beer.

Cheers!

After having my first juice at home, I quickly realized that Fourth of July weekend is perhaps the most difficult weekend to begin a fast.  I could smell tri-tip and carne asada coming from every direction.  I had a moment of weakness and made myself a sandwich.  This would not be an easy task, I figured, but nothing worthwhile is.  I have never been a big fan of vegetables and rarely included them in my diet.  Even after caving to hunger, I felt that the evening was a success.  I felt ready to accept the challenge and began my juice-only-fast on the 4th of July.  It has now been two days and I am feeling great at the moment, but there have been very difficult moments.  The days seem to have gotten longer and I am already learning a lot about the effects of proper nutrition and the difficulties of withdrawal.  I will be updating the blog with my progress in the near future.

Posted in: Health, My Path