Cable TV, I’m breaking up with you.

Posted on December 19, 2010

0


Swimming with the Fishes

I did not watch football today.  I missed all the great plays that only come in the final weeks of the season when the playoffs are within reach.  I did not see the dramatic finish to the Eagles game, but I did read about it.  No, it’s not the same, but it’s OK.  This Sunday was different.  I woke up, thanked God for another day, and then I went in my garage for a two-hour workout session.  It was great.  After taking a shower and getting ready for the day, I headed out and ran some errands.  I even had time to play video games for a bit.  My house is clean, my car is fueled up, my belly is full, my body is rested, and my mind is clear.  I did not watch football, but I am doing just fine.

My cable is still active.  I have a five more days before it is cut, but I decided that I was through with it last night.  I have been ready  to let it go for a long time and I didn’t want to watch it just because I still had it.  The thrill is gone, the thrill has gone away…

We had a good run, cable TV.  I am grateful for all you did for me and I forgive you for what you took from me (so much valuable time).  We had some good laughs.  We may even have had some tears together (don’t tell anybody).  You were there for me on many occasions when I just needed some lights and sounds in the background to make my empty house not feel so cold and vacant.  I appreciate that.  You would entertain me with the Padres and Chargers games in magnificent high-definition.  That was always fun.  My UFC pay-per-view fight parties couldn’t have happened without you.  You introduced me to Lucy when I was a kid and through your connections I met the Simpsons, the Bundys, and Zack Morris.  Yes, we had some great times, but the fact is:   I don’t need you anymore.  It is what it is, my old friend.  I am ready to move on to better things with my life.

With that said, these are a few things I will NOT miss about television:

  • ALL the horrible, shameless, intelligence-insulting, uncreative, and annoying commercials.
  • Reality Shows in any shape or form.
  • Over-dramatic crime shows.
  • Uncreative science-fiction shows.
  • ANYTHING with Brett Michaels, Tila Tequila, or Flavor Flav.
  • “Ghost Hunter” shows that never have any good footage (anyone can whisper nonsense in the dark, seriously).
  • Celebrity Dancing/skating/ANYTHING.

Why didn’t I do this a long time ago?  I don’t know and it doesn’t matter.  It’s over now and I am living in the present.

Posted in: Modern Life, My Path