The Final Countdown

Posted on December 17, 2010

4


The American Dream

Well, I finally committed and as of December 24th I will no longer have cable television.  It’s something I have wanted to do for several months now, but have just failed to go through with it.  I love watching sports and I thought it would be too difficult to give that up.  Baseball, Football, and MMA are my favorites.  I think I will miss UFC fights the most, especially now that they are acquiring the WEC weight divisions.  My flat-screen LCD television will be used for PS3 and movie-watching purposes only.  I am not much of a gamer, so I will be doing a lot more reading with my free time.

I am looking forward to this new lifestyle (yes, it is a lifestyle change) and hope to be more productive than I have been the last year.  It has been a slow process to change my habits and mindset.  I think that has made it easier on me and it also makes the changes last.  I have already minimized the time I spend watching television and there are a few days in the week when I don’t even turn it on.  Including a workout routine into my weekday has made it easier to focus more on myself and not on what is going on in the world of news and entertainment.

The new year will bring a lot of positive changes in my life, but it won’t be a case of instant change.  I have slowly been laying down the foundation for this new lifestyle in the last year.  It hasn’t been easy and it hasn’t been without failures and set-backs.  I still struggle with detachment and living in the present.  The biggest lesson learned this year as that change is an attainable goal.  The small victories add up and provide motivation to continue bettering myself.  I am proud of my achievements this year and I am grateful for the lessons in my failures.

So, what’s on the agenda for the next few months?  Well, I am planning on doing more sailing and might even buy a small boat next year.  I am also hoping to break all my running records in the 5k, 10k, and half-marathon distances.  I have been very consistent with my working out and eating healthier the last few weeks.  My goal for next year is to take two vacation trips.  I will be doing a week in Mexico next April and have not picked a country or city for my fall trip.  This year it was Manhattan and I loved it.  Any suggestions?  I am excited and slowly developing an internal happiness that I have not had in a few years.  Life is good, my friends, despite all obstacles.

Posted in: Modern Life, My Path