Lo-Fi Music

Posted on September 14, 2010

0


Lo-fi (Low-Fidelity) Music is one of my favorite  genres of music to listen to when I’m relaxing at home and, strangely enough, when I am working out.  I’m a big fan of good lyrics and independent singer-songwriters, many of which record in home studios. Lo-Fi is not necessarily a specific style of music, but instead a recording practice which is associated with genres ranging from folk to psychedelic rock and more recently anti-folk and indie rock.  The sound is usually of a lower quality than the usual standard (purposefully) because of the equipment and methods used to record.  All old recordings are considered “Lo-Fi”, but there are a lot of modern artists that prefer these simpler recording techniques over costly and time-consuming studio recording.

I appreciate well-crafted studio albums.  I think Pet Sounds by the Beach Boys is one of the greatest albums of all time and I also respect modern acts such as Radiohead (my favorite band, EVER) that take studio recording to a whole other level.  Being a singer-songwriter and having experience with home studio recording naturally draws me to Lo-Fi music.  I enjoy well-crafted songs with solid lyrics and bare-bones instrumentation.  I think more people would appreciate it if they took the time to learn more about this genre.  Here is a quick list of some of my favorites, Enjoy!

Lo-Fi in the Beginning:

Bob Dylan – The Death Of Emmet Till

Lou Reed – Walk On The Wild Side

Nick Drake – Pink Moon

Modern Lo-Fi:

Elliott Smith – Miss Misery

Kimya Dawson – The Swing

Daniel Johnston – True Love Will Find You In The End

Iron & Wine – Lion’s Mane

Pedro The Lion – Criticism As Inspiration

Damien Jurado – What Were The Chances

Azure Ray – The Drinks We Drank Last Night

José González – Heartbeats

Posted in: Music